USA Income - 189 Visa?

Jacques Leemans

We are currently in South Africa, busy with SkillSelect application on Developer Programmer for Skilled Independent 189 Visa. ACS approved today YAYAYAY

Im a freelance game developer, with long term clients in USA, Canada, Auz, etc... USA and Canada pay me a fixed "salary" each month.

Does anyone know what the rules are, when it comes to foreign income when immigrating to Auz?

Will I have to find a full time job in Auz?

How does tax work for foreign income?

Is it possible to keep South African bank account? FNB

Thanks

Jacques

Yes you can keep your RSA bank account.

You would have to declare all of your foreign income in Australia and be taxed on it here, as you will be regarded as tax resident here. Of course, with RSA, Australia has a tax agreement with them, so the taxes that you have paid there you would be able to show on your tax return here. However, if there is a difference in the rates of tax in RSA and AUS, I believe you will have to pay the difference. I have no idea whether AUS has the same agreement with the USA/Canada.

The best would be to speak to a financial expert in Australia to give you the correct information.

If your income is enough for you to live on, there is no law that I know of that says you have to work in Australia.

@Mara thanks for the response.

Are the taxes the same in all provinces in Auz?

Not sure if the income would be enough, but compared to positions on Seek, it seems to be average.

Anyone know what the average livening costs are for a family of 5 in Perth?

HI

as the 189 is a PR you are tax resident reporting world wide income to ATO. In terms of the treaty between SA and Oz, you will probably become tax non-resident in SA ie SARS will not want to know about your USA income. Only ATO will need the reporting. Your W8Ben need to be updated in USA.