Itai's Micro blog - Jhb to Mel

eitai2001

Hi Guys.

So after introducing myself and getting involved in some of the discussions, I've decided it's a lot more fun to move if you can chat to people about it, tell them the good, the bad and get advice along the way. So I've decided to start a micro-blog of the process. Why is this a micro-blog and not a blog? Well simply because I've seen some really awesome journals which go into great detail, and I'm pretty sure mine will not match up to those ... so anyway, here we go!

For those who missed my introduction, my decision to move to Australia was made towards the end of last year, and after doing all the research, I decided on a 189 Skilled Migration visa, which is a permanent residence visa. I used the External Auditor occupation on the Skilled Occupation List. As I was a trainee accountant, I made sure to speed up all the steps to register as a Chartered Accountant with SAICA. I got everything done at the beginning of this year such as getting my Skills assessed by the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia. By the time I was ready to apply for my Visa in March, I had already done everything in the space of 3 months from Jan to March, including my IELTS, Skills Assessment, Police Clearance, Medical and certification of every possible document I could think of. With all that done, I received my Visa within 29 days of applying.

At the time, I was on a work secondment in California, so a great deal of coordination with my mother in South Africa and my sister in Melbourne was done in order to prepare everything. And as of 1 May, I have been formerly funemployed ;) !