Australian Permanant resident Visa

Sol1

Dear All,

I was wondering if anyone can inform me of whether I can immigrate to New Zealand with an Australian permanant resident Visa.

I have received the Australian Permanant VISA last year but have yet to immigrate to Australia as I am still in South Africa. But due to some family reasons, I would like to immigrate to New Zealand instead and was wondering if I could work and live in New zealand legally with an Australian PR visa considering I havent actually moved into that country as yet. I did activate the Visa THOUGH.

Thanks any advice will be appreciated

Thanks alot guys

I am not a lawyer (IANAL) and don't even play one on TV, so this advice is worth approximately twice what you are paying for it. :)

I was interviewed for a job in NZ a few years ago, before I became a citizen. I told the people upfront that I was not a citizen of Aus, but a permanent resident, and they had no problems, so it looks like Aus PRs can live and work in NZ.

Having said that, I can see numerous problems looming later if you aren't in Oz before the initial 5 years is up to get a Right to Return Visa, because you won't be able to get citizenship in Oz with out residing here for 4 years.

So maybe you can go to NZ and live there for a couple of years before going over to Oz and staying there for the required 4 years. Remember if you aren't in Oz when the initial 5 years is over and you don't have the RRV you can't get back in, which may make for an interesting case if you're in NZ on an Oz PR visa but can't get back to Oz.

It's worth looking at and I can't see that they'll chase you away out of hand, but .... IANAL.

Oubaas,

You make a point that I havent even considered - ie the resident return issue and oh yes, if I am not a PR of NZ as well- then I cannot legally stay in the country and they will boot me out lol.

Thanks for the advise- this is seriously something to think about.

Thanks alot