Plumber looking to work in Australia

Chris-80

Hi all.

Thanks for a great forum. It really provides a lot of important information.

I am a qualified plumber in Pretoria and I’m thinking of moving my family to Aus for various reasons. I am married with a daughter (1) and a baby boy on the way. I’m looking to get in contact with other SA plumbers who made the move who could assist me in making a decision. Things I would like to know are:

What type of salaries does an average plumber earn and if it would be enough to support 2 adults and 2 children?

How hard/possible is it to get a sponsor in Australia?

Would I have to do a test in Aus to work there?

Is there any limitation on what work my wife can do?

I read that daycare is very expensive, can anybody give me an idea how much it would cost for two children?

What are the standard of the schools? (compared to SA)

I looked at the immigration web site and would have to go on a 175 or 176 visa, is that correct?

Hope somebody can help :ilikeit:

Thank

Chris

Welcome to the forum, hope that you get answers to most of your questions here.

What type of salaries does an average plumber earn and if it would be enough to support 2 adults and 2 children?

The answer is yes, however, I guess it would depend on where you work, salaries across Australia and across industries, can differ greatly.

Here is a link to advertised jobs http://www.seek.com.au/JobSearch?DateRange...earchFrom=quick

How hard/possible is it to get a sponsor in Australia?

Unitl you have Australian registration as a plumber, it may be a bit more difficult. Although, as plumbers are in short supply you may well find somebody that is willing to sponsor you and assist you to get your registration.

Would I have to do a test in Aus to work there?