Krummelpap

Pine and Riana Pienaar

I never thought there would really be any food I would miss, what is more it is something so basic and cheap in Africa.

I miss my pap!!!

Either my daughter or I used to make pap (usually krummel (dont even ask me to do that in English)) on at least 3 out of 5 week mornings (weekends it was bacon and...., flapjacks/crumpets/pikelets, french toast, scones, etc). When we had a braai (barbie for you who have been here too long) odds were high that there was pap in some form invovelved (usually stywe pap).

Now I have found an IGA that sells nomal mieliemeel but not the braaipap with the coarse texture and at a price that makes you stagger and sit down. Forthermore I thought I should find an alternative as I am here to stay. So I have been scratching around. . . . and found a good alternative.

Polenta (course). Looks like braaipap (perhaps slightly less course) made from yellow mealies/maize. It kooks just like normal braaipap, tastes exactly the same. Has a slightly different smell that I cant quite place. The price is also about 25% better than the fine SA mieliepap. What is more it is always available unlike the SA products here in Canberra.

Now even my stomach feels at home. Just need to start making my own boerewors - these people just dont know what real wors/saysage is.

Anything you miss?

Hi

Mmm, let me see, we make our own boerewors, sheepwors and drywors, bake our own rusks (Ouma is just to expencive these days), make our own biltong, sometimes bake our own bread, still eat our traditional Sunday roasts with all the veggies under the sun, bake our own milktart, pancakes ect. We really became like the "boere" in the olden days without all the shops, make almost everything we want and were used to (must admit that we never did these in SA, there you could buy them in shops or get mom to make you some :blush: )

So for something I really miss ......

It started just after my eldest was born as a treat, then it became a once a month thing, then it became once a week and just before we left it was at least 2-3 time a week. I miss a Wimpy burger, chips and a large pink milkshake. Not so much the food but the company. I used to take my neighbour and best friend with whenever I needed to pop into town (used to be 15 km from where we stayed) and after all the shopping our last stop would have been the Wimpy, sometimes just for a cup of coffe and a smokebreak :blush: . I really miss those days and I think I miss her more than I miss my own family, she was like a sister to me and we had such good time together.

Wilma

I can relate to that. I was a rep in SA and covered quite a large area. In my case it sometimes became daily and the waiters eventualy knew me so well they didn't even bring the menu.

I also miss pap, C&B Mayo, rusk, tastic rice, cheaper boerewors, drywors and rump steak. I know you can get all of this at the South African Shop but it is so expensive and stale. When I go in there just to buy mayo I walk out with almost $200 stuff at a time

Wimpy coffee - hmmmmm. Still buy Jungle Oats and rooibos tea from the SA shop and sometimes Pro-Nutro. We had kiwi friends in Auckland that use to love Pro-Nutro. There most supermarkets got an international section where you can buy quite a range of SA products. Uncle Ben's rice and Vita Par-boiled is a good substitute for tastic. Made vetkoek (like my mum used to many moons ago) the other day. Also miss a spur steak and proper braaivleis on an open fire.

I can relate to that. I was a rep in SA and covered quite a large area. In my case it sometimes became daily and the waiters eventualy knew me so well they didn't even bring the menu.

I also miss pap, C&B Mayo, rusk, tastic rice, cheaper boerewors, drywors and rump steak. I know you can get all of this at the South African Shop but it is so expensive and stale. When I go in there just to buy mayo I walk out with almost $200 stuff at a time

Try Sun Rice - Vita Rice (Parboiled Long Grain) here in Dalby only available at Woolworths, but much better than tastic, Mayo I use Miracle whip, very expensive ($3,50) a bottle, but the closest to c&b, I have a lovery, flop proof, mueslie rusk recipe if you want me to send it. PM if you want the recipe.

Monica

Here is the rusks recipe

All Bran Rusks

2 c Sugar

2 c buttermilk

4 ½ (half) All Bran or Raisin Bran (I use normal muesli, and add sunflower seeds, raisins, and even granulated nuts as long as everything adds up to 4 ½ cups)

3 eggs

1 kg self raising flour (when baking with SA recipe that uses self raising flour always add baking powder, I add about 3tsp with this recipe)

500g margarine

1 t salt

Method:

Soften Margarine. Mix buttermilk, sugar and eggs thoroughly. Add to softened margarine. Add dry ingredients and mix. Place in pan. Bake for 40-45 min at 180 °C (350°F). Once cooked, cut with a sharp knife and dry by placing in oven at 100°C, oven on fan, and oven door opened slightly with wooden spoon. (Do be care full, a friend of mines oven knobs melted when she did this!)

Try Sun Rice - Vita Rice (Parboiled Long Grain) here in Dalby only available at Woolworths, but much better than tastic, Mayo I use Miracle whip, very expensive ($3,50) a bottle, but the closest to c&b, I have a lovery, flop proof, mueslie rusk recipe if you want me to send it. PM if you want the recipe.

Monica

[/quote

I can vouch for these rusks that Monica makes - just too delicious - even better than what we had in South Africa!

Hi da! Ek was vandag by Holt IGA en het gesien hul verkoop coarse Braaipap (iets van Premier International), kan nou net nie onthou hoeveel dit gekos het nie. Hul het dit eers nie gehad nie, net mieiemeel, maar vandag was daar groot pakke.

Ook, hul het 'n paar pakkies TENNIS beskuitjies op die rak gehad. Ek was seker so 2 maande terug daar en hul het dit toe nie gehad nie. O ja, hul het laas net 1 soort Mrs Balls chutney gehad (original) nou het hul omtrent 4 of 5 soorte. Ons het ook natuurlik bilting en droëwors gekoop. Hul s'n is altyd lekker en nie te bad prys nie.

Ek is net so lief vir my krummelpap!

Groete,

Aneldari

Ek bly net om die draai van hierdie IGA so as iemand dink om soontoe te gaan, voel asseblief vry om vir my eers soontoe te stuur om te gaan kyk wat hulle het. Partykeer is daar omtrent net 'n blik vis en 'n pak kerrie op die SA rak, en ander kere is daar alles en nog wat. Dan spaar ek julle dalk 'n trip al die pad Holt toe as die rakke leeg is.

Now I have found an IGA that sells nomal mieliemeel but not the braaipap with the coarse texture and at a price that makes you stagger and sit down. Forthermore I thought I should find an alternative as I am here to stay. So I have been scratching around. . . . and found a good alternative.

Polenta (course). Looks like braaipap (perhaps slightly less course) made from yellow mealies/maize. It kooks just like normal braaipap, tastes exactly the same. Has a slightly different smell that I cant quite place. The price is also about 25% better than the fine SA mieliepap.

Have you tried

http://www.satooz.com/categories/Pronutro%...2C-Mealie-Meal/

Satooz post to anywhere and are very efficient. We also have bought from Springbok but delivery was a bit slower.

Polenta can be mixed with cornflour to give you the consistency you want. I have never done it but know people who do.

There are many South Africans in Canberra. I know there are butchers that sell boerewors. Someone I know orders it from there and he is in Cairns.

Met a guy that makes the best koeksisters I have ever had in Brisbane. He made 6 types of boerewors for a braai last week. Vetkoek is currently my favorite RSA thing

We never buy rusks but my wife has been making buttermilk rusks for many years. Recipe is on this forum

Thought of you guys earlier -

went to buy my phone card at the African shop in Mawson and saw bags of the course pap - the one in SA in the white paper bag with the sorta painted braai scene on it ?

Couldnt leave without red fizz pops, jelly tots, champion toffees, Robertsons steak and chop spice, Roberstons Rajah curry powder, tennis biscuits AND the phone card !!!

Hi Lyn

Waar presies is die African shop in Mawson?

Groete

Aneldari

Hi Aneldari,

See you're in Kambah, we are busy looking there for a little house to buy !

My directions not so good so bear with me. If you are coming from Tuggeranong side along Athlone you will turn right at the traffic lights towards the shopping centre.

Miss the first small road on the right - there is construction on the one side and the Post office on the other.

Take the next right entrance into the car park.

Head between the coffee shops towards Commonwealth bank ATMs - facing the ATM - look to your right down the passage. You will see a party shop with a clown type mural on the window - directly opposite it is this really strange looking little African shop. Dont be put off - we've bought heaps of stuff and have never been ill !!! And the Sudanese lady who runs it is a real sweetie - she can talk your ears off.

If you dont come right - PM me and i'll talk you thru it. I live just up the road !

Thanks, Lyn! I think I'll be alright to get there.

I really enjoy Kambah, although like many suburbs you get different types of people here...

We are currently renting a beautiful house here in Mackay Crescent.

Anyway, thanks again!

• 5 years later...

I found the Holts IGA, but could not find the Mawton shop. is that one a goner?

I love to support the Holts IGA as they really are well stocked now, but being in Tuggeranong I'd like to find a place a bit closer for those emergency moments.

Yip, unfortunately the Mawson one is gone. I don't know of anything else on the South side.